I’m Back!

It sure has been a long time since I have put up a blog post. I decided to give myself a break because the “every Wednesday without fail” thing had started to feel like a burden. I was having trouble coming up with things to write about and I wanted to give it a rest for a while. I was just about ready to get back to it when we had a little election in America and I didn’t want to talk about that, so I prolonged my break. I had no heart for blogging, but time kept moving on and, suddenly, I have reached another blogiversary. I don’t want to let one of those pass without posting something.

I started this blog four years ago because I wanted to motivate myself to do creative things. I was arriving at my fifty-ninth birthday, which meant I was about to begin my sixtieth year and I didn’t want it to be another year of procrastination. I wanted to give creativity a chance. I promised myself that I would do fifty creative things before my sixtieth birthday. I also promised myself that these would include at least one art doll, one art quilt and one 16” x 20” painting. These were the creative pursuits that most called to me, but that first year was, otherwise, wide open. I did all kinds of creative things and, of course, put off the “Big Three” until very near the end of my blog year.

I met my goal that year and then I started thinking about a goal for the next year. I surprised myself by enjoying painting more than any other creative pursuit I tried that year. My second blog year goal was to create fifty paintings. I procrastinated on that one, too, but I met my goal. Then it was time to pick another one. Painting was still fun for me, but I had spent that second blog year painting almost exclusively indoors. I wanted to push myself into a larger world, so I set a new goal that I knew would be more challenging than any I had set before. I decided to do fifty paintings en plein air. I hoped and prayed that I would not procrastinate, since that would mean painting outdoors in the coldest weeks of the year but, of course, that is exactly what I ended up doing. I finished my fifty plein air paintings just in time for my birthday. Most of them were tiny, but I did paint fifty of them. I was happy, but I was exhausted. I decided not to set a new painting goal for my fourth blog year. I did keep up with the blog itself for another eight months. Then I hit a wall. I was out of town, on a wonderful vacation that turned scary when my husband had a health crisis far from home. I just didn’t want to write about that. I didn’t want to write about anything. I was only going to take a short break, but I couldn’t make myself go back to blogging.

Until today, that is. Today, I am starting a new blog year. I haven’t painted lately, but I find myself itching to set up my palette again and get started. It’s a Sta-wet palette that has been sitting closed up all this time, so I will be tossing all the contents and airing it out for a while. I am ready for a fresh start.

4 thoughts on “I’m Back!

  1. sarahcotchaleovitch

    Welcome back! I actually remember your first post and where I was when I read it. I think your entire goal–to do something creative–has blossomed into something wonderful. You are living and enjoying life, and that is a beautiful thing.

    Reply
  2. releaf1954 Post author

    Thank you, Sarah. You have always kept up with my blog and you post the most thoughtful comments. I think that you, as a blogger yourself, know how much I appreciate that.

    Reply
  3. fizzlesnoofson

    Well, thanks to your buddy add on NaNo, I finally found this blog! Though I may be somewhat late to the party, I’m still glad I found this and get to read through it… during December, of course.

    I totally get how you feel about your commitment to “Post every Wednesday” My own attempts at posting every Wednesday and Sunday are tiring me out as well. I’ve slown down to every Sunday. I’ll just have to wait and see if that works for me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

