About the Blog

My regular followers probably noticed that I didn’t publish a post last Wednesday. I was in a hotel that night and being in a hotel that night was not the original plan. According to the original plan, I should have been home by then. I was not prepared to write another blog post on the road. I did try, but when it got to be 10:20 pm and I saw that I was just getting a good start, I decided to let it go.

I decided to let this one go, too, but then I realized I wanted to explain why, so here I am. I chose to keep up the Wednesday blog posts because I was enjoying them. I looked forward to Wednesdays because they were my blog days. I’m not sure when that sense of anticipation turned into a sense of obligation, but it did. It made me think of my favorite quote from Ghostbusters II, “The joyfulness is over.”

I want blogging to be joyful. If it’s not joyful for me, it can’t possibly be joyful for my readers. I’m tired. I was on the road for a solid month and being home is both a relief and a disappointment. I saw so many wonders on my vacation that it’s a little hard to adjust to daily life again. Still, I missed this house. I missed my children and grandchildren. I missed my fellow singers in the Don Thompson Chorale.

It is good to be home. It is good to be back in my comfy chair. It is good to be singing again. I’m sure it will be good, eventually, to be blogging again. Just not every single Wednesday without fail. That’s not fun any more.

7 thoughts on “About the Blog

  1. sarahcotchaleovitch

    I am with you–not that I didn’t enjoy your blogs but that I’ve been there, myself. I try to do one a month, and usually I have something to say that often, sometimes even more frequently. Thanks for your honesty, and I look forward to reading a joyful post someday sooner or later. (P.S. How do people blog daily? 😬)

    Reply
    1. releaf1954 Post author

      I have no idea how anyone manages a daily blog. I remember when you made your decision to blog less regularly and I thought of you when I was writing this post. I enjoy your posts whenever they appear and I’m glad you keep up with mine.

      Reply
  2. Shearin

    I am glad you wrote to explain because I did miss your blog last week and wondered if everything was ok. I can certainly understand how blogging can get old. And also I like your description of feeling both relief and disappointment once getting home. I have felt the same way. So have a happy fall and I hope you will continue to blog once in awhile.

    Reply
    1. releaf1954 Post author

      Thank you for your support. I will keep blogging, probably fairly often. I just need to give the obligation a rest. I want the blog to be fun again.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

